First Career Hockey Broadcast -- Advice Needed

Gather around for news and rumors about the industry
Aaron Morse
antispam: No
The middle number please (4738): 4738

First Career Hockey Broadcast -- Advice Needed

#1 Post by Aaron Morse » Mon Dec 12, 2016 8:56 am

Hello all!

Wednesday is my first career hockey broadcast. It's a radio broadcast of a high school boy's hockey game up here in Maine.

My background is very much in baseball, basketball, and football.

I would appreciate any advice this community has for hockey play-by-play, any resources I should check out, etc. so I can make my first hockey broadcast as high quality as possible.

Thanks!!

--Aaron

PhilGiubileo
The middle number please (4738): 0

Re: First Career Hockey Broadcast -- Advice Needed

#2 Post by PhilGiubileo » Mon Dec 12, 2016 9:39 am

Aaron,

Congrats on the opportunity to call your first hockey game! While you might work more in other sports--calling hockey on radio is quite addicting! In terms of sheer game calling, there's little dead space and you really get to focus on describing the action itself, which to me is the most fun!

There's a lot that can be covered, but since it is your first hockey call, and I'm going to assume that you've never gone as far as even doing a hockey demo, then you'll really want to try and keep things simple, because if you do too much, you can get yourself in trouble.

Since I do consulting and coaching of hockey announcers on the side, I'm not going to reveal all of my trade secrets, but a few things to keep in mind:

1. Know the rules! Very important to make sure that you're up to speed with all of the rules/penalty signs. You have to know the difference between roughing and boarding--or any other penalty for that matter!