NCAA Tourney TV teams announced

Courtesy of the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel

Brian AndersonThe television voice of the Brewers, Brian Anderson, was added to the roster of broadcasters who will call NCAA men’s basketball tournament games in March.

Anderson will work with analyst Dan Bonner.

CBS Sports and Turner Sports announced their broadcast teams for the tournament on Wednesday.

Just as it was last year, the tournament game telecasts will be carried on TBS, CBS, TNT and truTV.

“I’m really excited about it,” Anderson said. “It’s my first venture into the NCAA tournament with CBS Sports, so it’s really cool.”

Anderson has handled college basketball telecasts throughout most of his career. In fact he is to call UCLA at Arizona on Saturday (although it will not be carried in the Milwaukee market) and then LSU at Auburn on March 3. In recent years, Anderson has called games for ESPN and the Big Ten Network.

The tournament begins Tuesday, March 13 with two of the “First Four” games on truTV. Jim Nantz, Clark Kellogg and Steve Kerr are on those telecasts from Dayton, Ohio. Those same announcers will call the Final Four games and the national championship on CBS March 31 and April 2, respectively, on CBS. That same trio called last year’s Final Four and championship.

Ian Eagle and Jim Spanarkel will handle the call for the other two “First Four” games on Wednesday March 14.

These are pairings for the second and third rounds of the tournament. The first four teams listed will handle the regionals as well:

* Jim Nantz and Clark Kellogg
* Marv Albert and Steve Kerr
* Verne Lundquist and Bill Raftery
* Kevin Harlan, Len Elmore and Reggie Miller
* Ian Eagle and Jim Spanarkel
* Brian Anderson and Dan Bonner
* Tim Brando and Mike Gminski
* Spero Dedes and Bob Wenzel

Like last year, CBS and Turner will use two studios, in New York and Atlanta, to cover the tournament.

Anchors Greg Gumbel and Ernie Johnson along with analysts Charles Barkley, Greg Anthony and Kenny Smith will be at the CBS Broadcast Center in New York. Matt Winer anchors the coverage from Turner Broadcasting’s Atlanta studio with analysts Seth Davis and Steve Smith.

During the regional semifinals and finals, Gumbel will remain in the New York with Barkley, Anthony and Kenny Smith, while Johnson will shift to Atlanta to join Davis and Steve Smith.

Read more at the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel where this story was originally published.