Nantz Award Watch List announced

There is a major surprise on the watch list for the 2012 Jim Nantz Award, released today by Sportscasters Talent Agency of America. Tiny John Carroll University in Cleveland, OH is the only university in the country with multiple representatives. Sophomore Dale Armbruster and junior Brendan Gulick are both on the list of front-runners for 2012 honors.

The Watch List features the early favorites for the 2012 Jim Nantz Award and STAA All-America program. The Watch List is comprised primarily, but not exclusively, of student sportscasters who earned Top 20 or Honorable Mention recognition in last year’s rankings. However, there is no guarantee the 2012 Jim Nantz Award winner is included on this list.

The STAA All-America program recognizes the most outstanding collegiate radio and TV sportscasters in the country and encourages collegiate sportscasters nationwide to strive to achieve their best. Each spring, the nation’s most outstanding collegiate sportscaster is presented the Jim Nantz Award, named in honor of the award-winning CBS sports broadcaster.

Awards include the Jim Nantz Trophy, portfolio packages, STAA memberships and All-America certificates. In addition, the Nantz Award winner will also receive hotel accommodations and admission to all the activities of the 2012 National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association (NSSA) awards weekend June 8th thru 11th in Salisbury, NC, culminating in the NSSA awards banquet.

Applications for the 2012 Jim Nantz Award will be accepted March 13th through April 16th, 2012. The 2012 Nantz Award winner and STAA All-Americans will be announced May 4th. The Nantz trophy will be presented at the NSSA banquet.

Below is the 2012 Watch List (in alphabetical order by last name):

Scott Agness (Sr, Indiana University)
Dale Armbruster (So, John Carroll University)
Benjamin Barker (Sr, Emerson College)
Pat Boylan (Jr, Ball State)
Kyle Decklebaum (Sr, Wisconsin)
Ryan Foutty (Jr, DePauw University)
Brendan Gulick (Jr, John Carroll University)
Ryan Hruska (Sr, Nebraska)
Jonathan Kendrick (Sr, USC)
Gary Kowal (Jr, Monmouth University)
David Lombardi (Sr, Stanford University)
Tommy Lopez (Jr, Virginia Commonwealth)
Mark Minner (Sr. Butler University)
Adam Rose (Sr, Boston College)
Jared Shafran (Jr, Northeastern)
Greg Talbott (Jr. Gonzaga)
Dave Walkovic (Sr, Penn State)

Click here to read more about the STAA All-America Program.